LCS finale report

T.J. Baker and Dan Lawson were the lone drivers who had not clinched division titles at Laurens County Speedway when the 2014 season finale had arrived. But once the state championship races were concluded, both had reason to celebrate, even though they didn’t win their main event races.

Baker clinched the Super Stock 4 point title when he finished fifth, and Lawson won the Hobby Division title when he took fifth in his race. For Lawson the championship is his third straight.

As for Baker, he started the main event of the SS4 Division with a 61-point lead on Joe Gibson, who won the pole position in Friday qualifying. Rod Tucker started on the outside of Row 1 and quickly got to the front when the race started, but Baker nearly saw his hopes end when he got into an accident involving Travis Sharpe. When Baker made contact with Sharpe it sent Baker onto the wall in turns 3 and 4. The incident sent him to ninth and gave Gibson an opening to challenge for the point title.

Baker, though, didn’t have anything to worry about as he slowly moved up through the standings and Gibson, who was in second, could never get up to first

After the race Tucker, who was deemed the winner of the main event, was protested and later failed his inspection. When that happened Scott Morgan won the race, with Gibson second, Bradley Lambert third and Tim Collins fourth.

As for the Hobby Division Dale Timms finished in front of Brad Rachels, who was also disqualified from his spot after failing his inspection. That moved Chris Patterson to second, with Tim Tollison third, Mart Patterson fourth and Lawson fifth.

Lawson had a 48-point lead in the division coming into the race but his finish proved more than enough to ice the title.

Timms started on the pole in the main event despite the race being halted on the first attempted start because of a huge crash. After the race resumed Timms got back to the front and was never challenged.

In the case of Lawson his case for the point title got better as drivers fell out of the main event, and when the field got down to six cars the title was essentially his.


Others: As for those divisions where the point titles had been decided, Tony Hill won the main event in the Front-Wheel Drive Division by executing a late-race pass of division point winner Travis Jamieson before turning back Joel Cabe, who finished second. Jamieson took third.

Colby Cannon won the main event in the Crate Division, turning back Travis Leake and Mac Owens, who were second and third, respectively.

And in the last race of the night two-time Limited Division winner (and three-time division winner, including the 2012 Super Late Model title) Billy Rushton was the top driver, winning the main event over Jimmy Taylor and Larry Timms.


Dash for Cash: Billy Rushton outlasted Mike Kernells to win the Limited race, but the most activity came on the seventh lap when Rushton got into the back of Michael Smith’s car, which was emitting smoke, and Larry Timms got into the back of Rushton’s car to force the red flag.

In the Crate Division Dash for Cash Nick Deitz won the race, with Mac Owens took second and division champ Terry Bullard was third.

Each Dash for Cash winner gets $200. M&M Scrap Metal sponsored the Crate race, while Zaxby’s sponsored the Limited race.


Fan’s favorites: Spud Ammons was named the FWD Fan Favorite Driver, while T.J. Baker won in SS4, Chris Patterson won in the Hobby Division, Dale Timms won in Crate Division and Michael Smith won Fan Favorite title in the Limited Division.




With just the state championship races left, the 2014 season sees two divisions at Laurens County Speedway that are still in flux.

Dan Lawson leads the Hobby Division race by an estimated 45 points on Chris Patterson, while T.J. Baker has an estimated 55-point lead on Joe Gibson in the Super Stock 4 Division. With each race this week a double-point race, that means deficits can be cut very quickly and someone can easily go from outside the point lead to division champion in a matter of laps.

In the Hobby Division race Chris Patterson finished fifth, while Lawson finished sixth. That, coupled with two bonus points Patterson earned for finishing two spots higher than he started, allowed Patterson to cut the deficit down to a workable margin. If Patterson were to finish five places ahead of Lawson in Saturday’s race, he would likely capture the point title barring anything completely unforeseen.

As for last Saturday’s race Bobby Tucker won the main event with Mart Patterson finishing second and Dale Timms third.


Super Stock 4: Baker saw his lead trimmed by a net 28 points, allowing Gibson to give himself a shot for the point title. Gibson would need to finish no fewer than six places better than Baker to assure himself the title.

Gibson has the chance after Baker’s rough night Saturday. Baker hit the inside wall in the final laps of the main event, and as a result finished in seventh.

Dusty Eaves won the main event over Gibson, who finished second, and Bradley Lambert. Eaves started the main event on the inside of Row 2, but got to second and engaged himself in a good battle with Baker through the race. The hard push paid off when Baker got loose and both cars made contact, sending Baker into the wall.


Divisions clinched: Joel Cabe won the main event but Travis Jamieson clinched the Front-Wheel Drive point title by finishing fifth. Spud Ammons was second and Tony Hill third.

Jamieson had a 164-point lead over Cabe entering the main event, but when Jamieson started the race and survived early wrecks to guarantee he’d finish in the points, the title was all-but clinched.

As for the race Cabe started on the outside of Row 1 and got to the lead on the opening lap. He was pushed by Ammons and Scott Isbell at the start, but Cabe was able to pull away and win with comfort.


Another division clinched was the Crates, where Terry Bullard won before the race started.

Bullard, who held a 112-point lead on Dale Timms entering the night, won when Timms decided to move over to the Hobby Division. Bullard finished second behind Larry Timms, who won the main event, while Mac Owens was third.

Timms grabbed the lead from the start by getting past Bullard, who was on the pole. Bullard later fought off a push from Owens for second place while Larry Timms opened up a healthy lead and pulled away.

Billy Rushton, who has already clinched the Limited Division title, won the main event in his division. Michael Smith was second and Donnie Barrett was third.

Rushton parlayed a good start into a strong race, slipping past Jimmy Taylor at the start to take the lead. Rushton maintained the lead despite hitting lap traffic, but the slower cars did not do enough to threaten the back-to-back Limited Division winner’s hopes of getting the checkered flag.