Huey wins caution-free feature at LCS

Mike Huey managed to turn back Tony Quarles’ best challenges to pick up the victory in the main event at Laurens County Speedway in Saturday night’s regular weekly program. Quarles was second, followed by Frank Coates in third, Deano Long in fourth and Austin Watkins in fifth. The main event was a caution-free affair over the 25 laps. Huey started the night on the pole after winning his heat race, with Quarles next to him on the front row. Huey got [...]

Puckett triumphs in Laurens County Speedway opener

After nearly six months of slumber, Laurens County Speedway roared back to life Saturday night with the first races of 2019. Taylor Puckett was one of many who made sure his first night was a great one as he won the Limited Division main event late Saturday, beating Frank Coates by 4.403 seconds in the 25-lap race. Tony Quarles was third, with Austin Watkins fourth and Dustin Sloan fifth. Puckett started the race on the inside of row 3, and soon [...]

Racing Report: Rushton wins two divisions at Laurens County Speedway

Billy Rushton has been among the top drivers at Laurens County Speedway for years. Saturday night’s racing card provided another chance for him to show just how great he is. Rushton won both the main events he took part in at the speedway, winning the 602 Crate Division and Limited Division races, and took both races with relative ease. In the 602 Crate he topped Colt Smith and Jeff Crowder, who were second and third, respectively, while in the Limited [...]

Racing Report: Gray outlasts Crowe, Patterson at Laurens County Speedway

A heavy shower an hour before race time didn’t do enough to force a third straight rainout at Laurens County Speedway, much to Lee Gray’s approval. Gray won both the qualifying for the main event in the 602 Crate Division and the 25-lap main event, topping Cameron Crowe and Chris Patterson in the main event. Crowe was second, with Chris Patterson third. Dale Timms was fourth and Josh Hellams was fifth in the race that didn’t start until well past [...]

Racing Report: Tucker slips past Wilson in Monster Minis main event at LCS

It was a race that Phillip Wilson looked to have won but, as is always the case in auto racing, victory isn’t assured until the final turns are cleared and the finish line is crossed. Rod Tucker made sure Wilson knew this the hard way as he made a pass in the final turns of the last lap Saturday night in the Monster Minis Division main event and picked up the victory at Laurens County Speedway. Wilson was second with [...]

‘Kid Quick’ picks up win at Laurens County Shrine Race

Enoree’s Zach Mitchell goes by the name “Kid Quick,” and he more than lived up to that moniker during Tuesday night’s Laurens County Shrine Race at Laurens County Speedway. Mitchell, a member of the Carolina Clash Super Late Model series, won the pole for the 35-lap main event and eventually pulled away to victory in the main event itself. Jeff Smith finished second, defending champion Ross Bailes was third, Dennis Franklin was fourth and Johnny Pursley was fifth. The victory is [...]

Racing Report: Smith wins main event at Laurens County Speedway

In the final night of action before Tuesday’s Laurens County Shrine Race, Michael Smith used a good draw to improve from a second-row qualifying lap to the pole position – and once there he didn’t give the position up. Smith led from start to finish in the main event and took home a victory that will help boost his hopes for a division title. Chris Lyons was second, Mike Huey third, Billy Rushton fourth and Shun Thomas fifth. Smith turned in [...]

Racing Report: After disqualification, Lawson wins Thunder Bombers at Laurens County Speedway

Dan Lawson stepped in for Bobby Tucker less than a month ago to drive the No. 88 car in the Thunder Bombers Division at Laurens County Speedway and has been nothing but excellent since then. That trend appeared to continue Saturday night at LCS as Lawson held off the field to win his third straight race, denying Casey Lawson by 1.550 seconds. Casey Lawson was second, while Dylan Chappell was third. But that was all before a post-race protest was lobbied [...]

Racing Report: Wilson takes checkered flag at Laurens County Speedway

Phillip Wilson has always been a consistent winner at Laurens County Speedway, and Saturday night was no different for the veteran driver in the Monster Minis/Stock 4 Division. Wilson eventually pulled away from Dusty Eaves, another veteran, to take the checkered flag in the main event. Larry Teal was third, with Jasper Brown fourth and Brandon Frazier fifth. Wilson won in what was a caution-free race, taking the lead from the start over Eaves after each started on the front [...]

Racing Report: Timms slips past Calvert at Laurens County Speedway

Goose Calvert could see him coming in his rear-view mirror, the man who would chase down his car after trailing for nearly the entire SECA 604 Crate Division main event race Saturday night at Laurens County Speedway, and couldn’t do anything to stop him. And Dale Timms, his persistence rewarded, found his way back to Victory Lane. Timms won the main event by .986 seconds over Calvert, while Deano Long took home third place. Calvert started the race on the inside [...]